eBay Rod Kits

Posted on May 26, 2011

1


Won two auctions for rod kits on eBay last week. ~$40 each for everything: handles (already fit!), reel seats, guides, and blank. I wasn’t expecting much. Got them today and glued them up and I was very pleasantly surprised.  Faster than my TFO, and I would say even though they came unmarked that they act a lot like Pac Bay/Rainshadow blanks (Fethastyx, Xrods). I mean really, these are complete steals. Blanks alone are worth over $100 each. Rods on built on these blanks can go $500.

One is a gorgeous brown/red 7-piece 8.5′ 3 weight (you can put it in your pocket) , and one is a green 10′ 4-pc 4wt. The first is going to be my “throw it in the luggage go anywhere rod” and the second is going to be my spey rod for Alpine lakes. Those lakes are too steep to wade in, the shores are too close to back cast, and it’s usually farther than I want to hike a tube in – making a very lightweight spey the perfect solution. If I underline it with the correct 3 wt line, I should be able to get some nice long casts with it, and use the same reel for both rods.

I glued the handles up tonight and will update the post as I go. I’m really hoping to get an early season hike into Big Greider for golden trout with these two beauties.

Posted in: Fly Fishing