Introducing B&W Film Photography Class

Posted on February 9, 2012

8



First, with my crazy 2 job schedule, I’m just not getting into the darkroom. Second, so many people have said they want to come over and work in the darkroom, but nobody ever does. Therefore, I decided I would teach a class. It would be 1x/week for 4 weeks. Then you can use the darkroom whenever you want. Unsurprisingly, it will focus on the B&W film photography and the Zone system.

Curriculum

We want to make the best possible negatives to get the best possible prints, with the least work.

I. Shooting film for the Zone system

  • Use a DSLR to quickly understand the zone concepts
  • Shoot a roll of film to explore the zone system
  • Shoot a roll of film for film developing

II. Developing the film

  • Removing film from the roll
  • Finding correct development time
  • Developing to control contrast
  • Developing processes

III. Printing I

We’ll make prints learning basic contrast controls:

  • Dodging
  • Burning
  • Filtration

IV. Printing II

More advanced contrast controls and final prints:

  • Bleaching
  • Toning

V. Independent Study

Working to improve the quality of  your negatives and printing techniques on your own time. Possible shooting trips to practice and discuss in the field while we work on exploring a given subject with the intent of producing previsualized prints. I’ll even lend you my medium format camera if you like.

Cost for I-IV

You buy the film, you can chip in for beer and paper if you can afford it.

Cost for V

At this point, I definitely need to get a pint or two out of it.

