Paper Mountain

Posted on November 19, 2012

9



Paper Mountain

I’ve got a friend
With the loveliest eyes
He can see
But he can’t fly

At first I couldn’t see
His forests
Nor his trees
Now, it’s all clear to me

Some men have honor
And some have fame
Some have wealth
We all have shame

Our waters are dirty
And our children pale
How can they succeed
Where we have failed

With my friend at my side
Crying tears like the women bleed
Fertile drops falling
Upon the barren soil

Baked and strangled grey
By the greedy men who toil
Beneath their paper mountains
To steal the light from the day

The grey air
Fills the valley below
While as we watch
The houses slowly grow

Making the cities that are shackles
Leaving us at our mother’s bosom lie
We can’t run, so we hack and plunge
Growing soft and fat as she dies

I’ve been this way
Once before
Down by the rivers
Which no longer flow

Where the men lie
Like dogs in the sun
While the women labor
Ripe with their sons

I’ve got a friend
With the loveliest eyes
He can see
But he can’t fly

The rivers ran in rainbow hues

Posted in: Poetry, Writing