Unrequited Waltz

Posted on February 15, 2013

0



Image: Rye Beach, after the storm. How many of us have stood on this spot? The sky was black before me, and blue behind.

Some things you can never have
Dancing through your fingers
Like a moonbeam
With a laugh
Keep on reaching
For your dreams
I think it’s gone
Then I hear your name
And sometimes
I smell the wind in the rain

I like to lay
Under the cool shade
Of memory
I like to listen
To friends
Of days gone by
Drops of honey
Sliding past in my mind
And sometimes
I smell the wind in the rain

There the dancers
Are a forest whirling
When the music thickens
I let them take me in
You cannot worry about
The mistakes  you’ve made
Can’t worry about future tides
In the very quiet
I hear the gentle notes
Of your voice
And sometimes
I smell the wind in the rain

Posted in: Poetry