100th Post: Bavarian B&W

Posted on April 7, 2013

8



Just under two years ago I started this blog, so that works out to about once/week! Who says I can’t commit?

I was unemployed, felt I needed some new writing samples, and also finally had some time to play around and figure out why my B&W images really, really sucked. Along the way, I’ve easily written enough content for two books, and I’ve proved what I’ve long thought: if I could just sit and write every day for the rest of my life, I would never run out of projects – and that’s just what’s already in my head. Kind of sobering to realize that at some point in life you sit down and have to start considering the things you are going to leave undone.

As of today I’ve had 18,435  people visit the blog. I got a big spike at 5,000 and another at 10,000. One of my stories got linked to another blog and I got almost 3,000 hits in one weekend, including my first ever offer to publish my fiction. This is a huge milestone as I’ve probably gotten paid for every word of non-fiction I ever wrote and not one of my fiction.  Along the way, I’ve learned a lot about social media and I’ve made a few friends (Rob Howard, someday I’m going to call you from a pub in London and have you come in for a pint!). I’ve discovered other peoples’ content that I respect, and well figured out this is what I really want to do.

I bet I’ve had 6 jobs since I started this blog, but I don’t need a job, I need a paycheck so I can write. Everything in my life has been a procrastination to get to the place where I can believe enough in myself to do the things I’m here to do. And, the feedback I’ve gotten from friends and strangers here has made that possible. But now time is short. Everybody says it, but stop wasting time. Right after you catch up on my blog and read all of Michael Kilkenny’s Wake, figure out what you love and a way to do it. I think the rest will fall into place. I’ve actually even been using my story-telling ability in my day jobs to good effect.  It’s definitely the reason our team took top honors at Think Week at Microsoft.

As I lay in bed this morning thinking I should publish something “special” for this blog, I realized that was way less important than getting it out there. In my backlog are some pretty good shots I took in Europe with Bernard and my dad this summer. Since ostensibly one of the reasons I started this was to get better at that, I figured, “good enough.”

Most of these were taken in Prague, with some in Reggensburg, and Český Krumlov, all Word Heritage sites you should see someday. I had some issues with both cameras and lenses, which are recorded in a draft blog somewhere, and although I spent 3 nights standing on Georges bridge until the wee hours of the morning trying to get a good night shot, I did it with no idea if my camera was even working. Add to that that when I got home and developed the first two rolls they came out completely clear. At first I was sure I’d carried 40lbs of gear halfway around the world and back only to be blanked (including my best friends’ wedding). I pondered it, had a pint, mixed all new chemistry for the second time that night and found some beautiful negatives. Proving the maxim that if at first you don’t succeed, you probably need a beer.

I’ll include the travelography when I finally post the color images. Meanwhile Bernard, as always, did a great job here.  While I’m at it, I’d like to thank Bernard and his wife Renee without whom not only would I not have been able to give my dad a trip of a lifetime, but I would’ve missed out on many adventures in skiing, beer, photography, Balefire, and well, life.

Prost! Thanks for reading and lets do 100 more.

P.S. The negatives came out great! The scans, as always, are what they are. This, after all is not digitography!

