Missionary Position

Posted on April 25, 2014

2



A long time ago in a nearly mystical place called Balefire, every so often when the moon and the fog combined just right, The Missionary Position would play. Not sure their status now, some of them are in The Walking Papers with members of  Screaming Trees and Guns “N” Roses, but they are playing tonight at Club 99. Think I might go.

UPDATE: Every time I see these guys I am still humbled and honored they used to come to our little bar.  For reference of just how huge this is, here is Eddie Vedder sitting on his suitcase with an MP sticker on it. I mean when other huge RnR artists are paying you homage,  you know you’ve got something going on. I ran into some Balefire expats last night (Ched and Katie) and I still remember how skeptical they were when I was practically begging them to come to Balefire to see this band. Ched says “You kept saying ‘they are the best band I ever heard,’ and I kept thinking ‘what do you know?'” Kind of ironic to the two of them in the front row 5 years later.

5683825207_0e1d1da51b_b
For half of the songs it was just drums and keyboards, and yet they built some of the wickedest rhythms I ever heard. They also ran out some new  never-before-played stuff.

At one point I recorded them live for a project I had called The Balefire Sessions. I asked about the tape and was glad to hear they still have it and still want to do something with it. It could be the most prescient I ever did, and it would be nice to have as after breaking my last Balefire wine glass I don’t really have a single memento from the bar except for the 4′ poster modeled on the last image below that we had made up for their last show and which I still need to get signed.
Here’s a video.

