One Log, Here be Dragons

Posted on May 2, 2014

4



B&W Portfolio

Photos of about six feet of an old-growth log on the Snoqualmie at the base of Twin Falls, more grist for From the Mountains to the Sea.

One of my most successful shots. I got this in 4 prints, including pre-exposing the paper.

One of my most successful shots. I got this in 4 prints, including pre-exposing the paper.

I hiked to the falls one day and then hiked down to the river on the way back, looking for fishing spots I admit, and then  saw this huge chunk of log lying there. I think I used an orange filter on these and this was before I learned to “under develop” my film. This is one of the things I love about photography. It gets me to slow down and look at things differently. I was endlessly fascinated by the play of light and texture. It alternately reminded me of faces, clouds, and dragons. I might’ve shot two rolls of fim here.

.

