3rd Anniversary Blog, 150th Post

Posted on May 18, 2014

5



Me & My RB67 with the 500mm lens standing on my porch taking pictures of Mt. Baker. Click for full image. Photos by Bernard Hymmen.

Nothing Focuses the Mind Like a Hanging

This is the 3rd Anniversary of this blog. If you follow it you will notice a spate of posts recently. That’s because I originally started the blog to move my portfolios from Facebook to here, and after 3 years had not yet done that. Also, noticed that I had dropped off pace to average 50 posts/year or ~1 post/week, a pace I was on until this year. So I decided to kill both birds by publishing nearly every day since April 25th.

D70_21491

This is important because I also want the blog to drive both my photography and my writing, and if you are going to be a writer, well you need to write. For about 5 years after the fire, I didn’t write at all, just did photography. In the last few years, I’ve done less photography and more writing.

A friend of mine once asked me why I bothered to keep a blog. Well, it has definitely been worthwhile. I just cleared 30,000 hits,  hit my 3G limit on data uploaded and made at least one “good friend” (Rob) . I’ve used it as tutorials for people I’m working with, in job interviews, republished content on other blogs for pay, sold two short stories, and built a bunch of other sites and blogs on the WordPress platform.

I will admit, the blog breaks a lot of blogging rules, being several blogs in one. While the recent posts have been mostly images, most of my posts tend to be article-length or story length. If I’ve done 150 posts at just 500 words each, that is 75,000 words, the bottom end of novel length fiction. Give me 1000 words/post and I would definitely have a book. I am prolific, just inconsistently applied.

In fact, I do have a good start on three books here, most of which go unnoticed as they are on separate pages which you need to access through the top navigation. If you are ever looking for something to read, I encourage you to look at them and please give me some feedback.

  • Under the You Didn’t Know Me Then link at the top of the page, you will find my oldest short stories, mostly science fiction and magic realism. I just recently started writing in this vein again with A Small, Sharp Blade.
  • Under the Still Falling link are my flyfishing short stories and novellas.~44,000 words so far.
  • On Photos of the Skykomish and Snoqualmie River Valley  and are some of the images are going to another collection/piece/show/book I’d like to do which I’m calling From the Mountains to the Sea, about the Skykomish/Snoqualmie river system. These are labeled some of the most endangered rivers in the country, yet everyday most of you drive right by the most amazing scenery on them.

Thinking about it, f I wanted to, I could probably put together a treatise on getting started in B&W film photography, as well.

I was looking at my stats today, and the world view is kind of interesting. It’s like some kind of  Tetrus game where you try to fill in all of the countries. Every country in North America, all of Europe, All but two in South America. I wish I could get the full list of flags on the right, it’s pretty cool.  I’m fascinated that Trinidad & Tobago, rates 4th on the list for country views. How many of you can pick that out of the map?

Capture

So, the blog is still worthwhile, I still have things to say (I figured out the film testing thing, for one), and I can only ask, why are you reading mine and not writing yours?

P.S. Who Are You and Where are You From?

Who is visiting me from the Ukraine?

WordPress gives me these awesome reports and I can see how people find me, where they live, how they found the blog, what pages they visited. I see people from Europe, Asia, South America, and I always wonder who they are. I would love to get comments from  you!

