Portsmouth Christmas 2016, Non-Door Shots

Posted on January 5, 2017

0



Just a few shots I clicked off while looking at doors.
At one point there was a protrusion into the river by Pierce Island (just a few cables downstream of the featured image at the top of the post), called Henderson’s Point, but better known locally as “Pull or be Damned Point” because if you didn’t cross the river before it, the Venturi effect would wash you out to sea. They developed a special boat, the Piscataqua River Wherry to deal with this effect. (One of two boats developed for this short river.) They are virtually sculls. Anyway, they eventually blew the point up in what was at the time the world’s largest explosion. There is a great story about the point in Story of a Bad Boy. (And also maybe in Cross-Grained and Wily Waters.) Anybody who grew up in Portsmouth should read this book, which was an inspiration for Tom Sawyer.
Preferably you can find it at a local independent book shop (Sheaf Street Books, River Run Books, Portsmouth Book & Bar):
4168sqhrwol-_sx398_bo1204203200_

Sometimes I convert things to B&W just to see an image differently.

I don't know why, I was attracted to this shot behind the music all, but if you look in the upper left you can just see

I don’t know why, I was attracted to this shot behind the music all, but if you look in the upper left you can just see “FRAN” which must mean that there is a Frank Jones building on Islington St. that I’ve walked by a 100 times and never noticed and I never would’ve seen it in color.

Posted in: Photography