The Best (Sci-Fi) Novel You Never Heard Of

Posted on June 23, 2017

1



And a Cool Competition Where You Can Get a Free Copy

John Steakley only wrote two novels: Armor, and Vampires before he died of cancer. Armor is ~500 pages. In college five of us read it in 4 days. One  person would stay up all night reading it, hand it to the next at breakfast. That person would skip class, spend all day reading it, and give it to whomever came home first. And these are people who are well versed in literature at an Ivy League school. People who collectively had read a lot of science fiction and other genres. We all agreed: best damn (sci-fi) novel we’d ever read.

Like Mel Gibson in Conspiracy Theory who had to buy every copy of Catcher in the Rye he came across, for the next 20 years every time I came across a copy of Armor, I bought it  and gave it away. Tonight I realized it has been a long time since I’ve seen a copy, and wondered why the hell this has never been made into a movie. It’s out of print. Pristome copies are selling for over $1000. This is just not right. So, I got an idea. I went to Amazon and bought 5 copies. I will mail give a copy to anybody who agrees to do the following things:

  • Make it the next book they read (we all have books languishing on our shelves we have great intentions for, don’t we?)
  • If you like it, promise to post on FB and any other social media you belong to. (If you don’t, unfriend me, please.)
  • Whether you like it or not, give it to a friend to read who will agree to the same rules, or mail it back.
  • I have no idea how to make something go viral, but if you do, let’s have some fun.

If I get an overwhelming response, I will keep buying the books. (It is available on Kindle, btw.)

To enter, leave a comment. First come, first served.

A few more links, although I promise you, this is one of those books which far exceeds any description of it.  Take a chance, trust me, what do you have to lose?:

By the way, he started a sequel but never got to it. Now there is a project…

Posted in: Photography