73 Fly Fishing Blogs

Posted on February 21, 2016

7



I got invited recently to a closed Facebook group, Fly Fishing Bloggers. On that page is an Excel spreadsheet listing bloggers and their blogs. I thought this was interesting information, but hard to access and impossible for  general audiences to find. Therefore, I thought since somebody else had done a lot of the work (thank you Justin Carfagnini), that I would expand the list with some descriptions and publish it here. Then maybe other people could repost, correct, and expand the list. I already added two of my own entries to the list. Some of the blurbs are from the authors themselves, either from posts on FB or from the About sections of their blogs. The rest I just plain fabricated. If you want something fixed or expanded please hit me up in the comments and I will try to keep this up-to-date.

The original table follows the text.

Almost everything that I have accomplished has come about as a result of my blog. I hope in some small way this helps other people in the community in their pursuits and ambitions.

20 Acre Carcass

www.20acrecarcass.com

I got to see some of Jake’s amazing art at Writers on the Fly, and of course he had a gallery and cover for the Fly Fish Journal. Edgy, original, yet still capturing the primal aspects of the beast. Wonder if I can con him into a book cover.

Jake Keeler

A Tenderloin Runs Through It

www.atenderloin.blogspot.com

Gastronomic hunting/fishing blog.

Lucas Madsen

Anglers Club Magazine

www.anglersclub.com

Slick commercial blog.

Clay Smith

Arizona Wanderings

www.azwanderings.com

I’ve been writing on Arizona Wanderings since 2009. Hunting, fly fishing, and the Southwest. It’s been a fun ride

Ben Smith

Artist And Athete

http://www.artist-and-athlete.com

My blog was heavy on the photos for years, since I’m a photographer by trade. It’s a combination of life as a professional photographer, fly fishing, marathon running, and politics, especially related to water. Yesterday’s post is about testifying in a hearing at our state capitol against a bad groundwater bill.

Heidi Oberstadt

AZ By The Fly

Arizona fly fishing, gear, tips & tricks.

Jason Jones

Badger Tenkara

www.badgertenkara.com

The BT Blog chronicles the adventures of Badger Tenkara for just about 2 years now. We fish for trout, bass, panfish, and anything else that swims. We like to adapt fixed line fly fishing to North American waters and species, and have a blast experimenting as we go.

Matt Sment

Big Kype

www.bigkype.com

I write about fly fishing, ice fishing, and bow hunting mostly in Northern Minnesota. I have had Big Kype since 2011.

Leif Birnbaum

Bobber Talk

www.bobbertalk.blogspot.com

Writings of a professional guide.

Bob Streb

Bonefish On The Brain

www.bonefishonthebrain.com

I started my blog 6.5 years ago in a fit of boredom and curiosity focused on a saltwater species I knew very little about… bonefish. There was a time I posted every. single. day. Those days are in the past now and I’m lucky to get 2 up a week. The blog has introduced me to a lot of great people and has taken me to some fantastic places. I’ll keep doing it, even if just for me, for the foreseeable future.

Bjorn Stromsness

Carf Outdoors

www.carfoutdoors.blogspot.com

…is just a dude who who loves to pretend to know how to fish, tie flies, write, and use a camera. With a passion for warm water river fish, particularly, smallmouth, northern pike, and musky. You’ll find him wandering and exploreing somewhere around the Midwest.

Justin Carfagnini

Casting Around

www.castingaround.anthonynaples.com

Welcome to Casting Around, a blog about Tenkara, Fly Tying and various related topics. Wild trout are my primary quarry – but I’ll go after bass and other species from time to time.

Anthony Naples

Chucking Line and Chasing Tail

www.millsfly.blogspot.com

Spokane-based blogger with steady trip reports and other content back to 20009.

Josh Mills

Connecticut Fly Angler

www.flyfishingcts.blogspot.com

My blog covers frequent outings in fresh water, salt water, streams, lakes, ditches, and puddles for whatever fish will eat a fly; with emphasis on photography. I throw in short stories, conservation, and fly tying whenever there isn’t much fishing happening. I started Connecticut Fly Angler in April 2013.

RM Lytle

Cool Green Science – Matt Miller

Http://blog.nature.org/science/profiles/matt-miller

Matt Miller is director of science communications for The Nature Conservancy and editor of the Cool Green Science blog. A lifelong naturalist and outdoor enthusiast, he has covered stories on science and nature around the globe. Matt has worked for the Conservancy for the past 14 years, previously serving as director of communications for the Idaho program. He is a former board member of the Outdoor Writers Association of America and an avid hunter, angler, distance runner and mammal enthusiast. He lives in Boise, Idaho with his wife and young son.

Matthew L. Miller

Critical Angling

www.criticalangling.blogspot.com

Tim Adkins

Eddierivardflyfishing.com

www.eddierivardflyfishing.com

My blog focuses mostly on my fly fishing adventures that occur in Minnesota and Wisconsin although from time to time I write about hunting and fly tying. I started it over two years ago but nobody really started to take it seriously until a few months back when I had stickers printed up for it. If you want people to take your blog seriously you need to have stickers. It’s as simple as that.

Eddie Rivard

Feather Chucker

www.featherchucker.blogspot.com

Just a good blog by a guy who obviously gets to fish and discusses gear and other bits as he goes along.

Kevin Frank

Fishing and Thinking in Minnesota

Over a decade of blogs on Minnesota fishing.

www.fishingandthinking.blogspot.com

Wendy Berrell

Fishing Jones

www.fishingjones.com

A collection of pithy and astute observations. Also, his blog roll contains many more fly fishing blogs than are on this list. Author of the highly-reviewed The Blitz, and many other fish-related pieces.

Peter McDonald

Fishing Through Life

www.btrussell-fishingthroughlife.blogspot.com

I am an avid fly fisherman. I started fishing with my dad when I was five years old and have never known life without fishing. The love of the outdoors has been one of the reasons I have enjoyed fishing for all these years. It is the greatest therapy in the world. When I am on the water I forget about everything else except landing that elusive trout, bream, crappie or bass.

I hope to use this blog as an avenue to express my thoughts and adventures of all of my fishing expeditions and any other journeys I may undertake.

Bill Trussell

Fly Fish Chick

www.flyfishchick.com

So this started as a flyfishing blog but life is so rich I can’t stay politely in my niche.

I’m Christine Warren, author, wife, mom, flyfisher & lover of all things honkytonk. I live in Austin Texas most of the time, Mobile Alabama part of the time, and try to get out to Montana as often as possible. But I’m always here on FFC blogging with gusto about fishing, food, music, family — or anything else that sparks. My first book was about a river adventure. I am currently writing a new book about honkytonk (hence all the music talk of late.) I typically go for the laugh, I wander off topic regularly, but I always come back around to fishing which of course is rarely ever just about the fishing.

FLY FISH CHICK…fishing stories with bite and other greasy stick-to-your-ribs tales from one southern woman who thinks she’s got it all licked.

Texas Heat * Southern Soul * Big Sky Love.

Christine Johnston Warren

Fontinalis Rising

www.fontinalisrising.com

I started Fontinalis Rising as an outlet for creative writing. Like others I dabbled in gear reviews and whatnot, but I’m back to just posting the occasional creative piece as the urge hits me. I’ve met a lot of great people and made some of my best friends as a result of the blog.

Gink And Gasoline

www.ginkandgasoline.com

Gink and Gasoline is about a vision. It’s about challenging ourselves as fishermen and sharing the experience. We believe that fly fishing should be inclusive, not exclusive and We see it as our mission to live the dream and bring it back home to you.

Louis Cahill

Go Into The Light

www.gointothelight.wordpress.com

I stared gointothelight about 5 years ago when I was between jobs and needed to update some of my writing skills . It has developed into a somewhat of a peripatetic collection of writings about B&W film photography, general photography, and fly fishing; and includes the chapters of two books of short stories I’m currently working on, one of them entirely based on Fly Fishing. I occasionally get to actually go fishing, and while I don’t go to exotic places or catch many fish, I often find some part of the journey to take away and discuss philosophically. I’ve spent some time tagging and arranging it so that people can follow one of the several threads in the blog. I try to publish 50x a year, and it continues to evolve. I’ve been fortunate that my writing has been “discovered” leading to numerous piece in The Fly Fish Journal and on the Orvis blog.

Jon Tobey

Hatches Fly Tying Magazine

www.hatchesmagazine.com

Slick commercial site.

Kevin Hoss

Headwaters of History

www.headwatersofhistory.com

To call myself a fly fishing writer is both true and false. I do fly fish, I do write, and I do write about fly fishing. However, I hardly consider myself a great writer or a great fisherman. I do both and I love both. I won’t come close to placing myself in the same building or river as my heroes – Roderick Haig-Brown, David James Duncan, Harry Middleton, Paul Schullery, or my father. They are my inspiration.  And perhaps one day I can approximate what they do on rivers and with pens.

I tend, also, to be one who writes about people who write about fishing. So, more than a fly fishing writer, I am a historian of fly fishing and fly fishing based conservation. I am academic who pays attention to history, culture, politics, and religion, and how all of those things play into the ways in which humans figure out how to relate to nature. Sam Snyder

Hops And Hooks

www.hopsandhooks.com

I blog about fly tying and fly fishing the Ohio River and its many tributaries throughout Kentucky, Indiana, and Ohio. Besides creating content here, I am also involved with regional FF clubs and volunteer time in youth education and promoting conservation issues. Topics I also hit on include American Craft beers, where I’ve reviewed over 50 of them (and counting), as well as whitetail deer hunting, hiking, and kayaking. I also have nice hair.

Joshua Rust

Kidder Fishing

www.kidderfishing.blogspot.com

Fishing as seen by me. Including friends, family and anyone else I can trick into splitting gas money…

This is just all about the ride and enjoying it as much as I possibly can. I love to fish, hunt, hike, camp, write, tie flies, build rods and I’ve been known to play some music from time to time (seeing as how teaching music is my day job). I try and get out to fish with as many people (including the wife and two kids) as I can. Sometimes I get to show them stuff, more often I learn a lot from them. No one knows it all, and I’m certainly not claiming to, just trying to pick up as much as I can along the way. Hope that you enjoy reading, and that you can get out and enjoy the water as much as possible.

Timothy Kidder

Living Fly Legacy

www.livingflylegacy.com

And why the blog?  Well, it’s a format and opportunity to share.  It’s an outlet for creativity.  It’s a way to network with others who feel the same about outdoorsmenship (made up word?) and a way to catalog adventures and learning.  It may be selfish, but I do it more for myself than others.  I like reliving the good times.  Our memories are probably the most valuable things we have, next to the people we care about and love.  It also helps me keep balance despite the time it takes to maintain.  I hope you enjoy looking around and gain some idea of the joy it all brings.

Chris Cutler

Look n Fishy

www.looknfishy.blogspot.com

I had a fly fishing blog once. Its remnants can still be found here…http://looknfishy.blogspot.com/. Going in a new direction now…http://flyfishingsucksinthesouth.blogspot.com (not sure if that’s a real site…so tread lightly)

Drew Ross

Middle River Dispatches

www.middlerivergroup.com

Dispatches is a gumbo of tenkara fly-fishing, fish and wildlife conservation, and politics

with some shenanigans thrown in to keep things entertaining.

Tom Sadler

Mikes Gone Fishin’…Again

www.mikesgonefishing.com

In truth, there’s no good explanation for what Mike’s Gone Fishin’ is about. It started as a way to torture my working friends after my retirement and subsequent escape to the woods of Chatham County, North Carolina, but has evolved into a personal scatter shot of fly fishing, essay, poetry, photography, outdoor living, indoor reflections, silliness, heartbreak, and, well, just about anything else that life feels like throwing my way. I suppose you could call it my way of throwing things back.

Mike Sepelak

Montana Fly Fishing: Fish Tales

www.mtfishtales.com

Welcome to FishTales Outfitting, where owner/operator Michael Stack and his team of expert fly fishing guides bring 70+ combined years of guiding experience to the premier trout waters of southwest Montana, home of the Madison, Beaverhead, Ruby, Big Hole and Jefferson Rivers. Centrally located in the Ruby Valley and readily accessible by the commercial hubs of Bozeman, Missoula, Billings, Butte and Great Falls, FishTales Outfitting is perfectly situated to head in all directions in pursuit of a world class fly fishing.

Michael Stack

Mystic Waters Fly Fishing

www.mysticwaters.com

I moved to Montana in the fall of 2007 after completing my guiding in Alaska. I had some time on my hands before the next season. I started Mystic Waters (same name as my business Anyway, I saw some other blogs and decided it would be a good way to share with clients and record some bits and pieces of my fishing seasons in Alaska and Montana. It’s turned into a great way to interact and be a part of an expanded fly fishing community. I’ve come to know some of you, though we have never met. I post about fly fishing. I love fly fishing.

Fred Telleen

North 40 Fly Shop

www.north40flyshop.com

Slick commercial shop site.

Sam Wike

Northern California Trout

www.northerncaliforniatrout.com

I’m just a guy who likes to fish and a guy who likes to write.

Mark Kautz-Shoreman

On A Fly!

www.onafly.blogspot.com

I fish for all species all year round in the driftless part of the country with a fly rod. I love all things fly tying and fly fishing. I’m learning photography and for the most part my blog is a fishing journal.

Ryan Frick

One Bug Is Fake

www.onebugisfake.com

I am Brandon and I post on onebugisfake.com. It’s not terrible and it’s pretty selfish, but it’s where I call home… virtually. My two big claims to fame is that I’ve slept in Fontinalis Rising’s guest bedroom and that I once had Louis Cahill become mildly annoyed with me.

Brandon Robinson

Outsmarting Fish

www.outsmartingfish.com

I started blogging in 2008 and converted my blogspot to http://outsmartingfish.com in 2010. My focus was quality over quantity. Informative and motivational. Quality stories, reviews, and imagery. Impromptu tagline that seemed fitting and still applies: “sharing the good(s) of fly fishing”.

Nathan Leavitt

Photography/Firearms/FlyFishing/Opinions

www.alexlandeen.com

I am a photographer and fly fisherman with a propensity for humor and an appreciation for the abnormal.

I specialize in environmental portraiture and product photography for the outdoor and firearm industries. This site is my quasi-professional internet presence, where you will find a combination of topics relating to my recent photographic work, fly fishing and the places I travel, as well as an occasional thought or opinion which may or may not have anything to do with either of these subjects.

Alex Landeen

Pile Cast

www.pilecast.net

Mine started off as a blog 5 or so years ago but I got away from the blogging side a while back. I’m not really sure what Pile Cast Fly Fishing has evolved into blogwise, I mainly focus on posting photography these days. I post my writings anymore. It’s been years since a gear review and I’m happier that way. I no longer feel like a cheap date lying to get my McDonalds super sized. With the recent / ongoing when I have time update to the site, the blog side has really taken a back seat and probably will only be used at random times for hyping events and shit that I am going to. You can find me here.

Dave Hosler

Powers Fly Fishing

www.powersflyfishing.com

Powers Fly Fishing is the repository of fishing exploits and musing of Lee Powers. Based in Delaware, Lee has fished all over the country. He prefers moving cold water but wont hesitate to fish in any location with a fly rod.

Lee Powers

Real Backcountry Fish Nerd

www.real.backcountryfishnerd.wordpress.com

You guys always ask the tough questions. I started in 2010ish. I don’t remember why. I know Kirk Werner had something to do with it. I just wanted to share stories and random thoughts about fishing. To explore the mind and the land if you will. I’ve been leaning over into the video world lately. Writing is sporadic these days.

https://backcountryfishnerd.wordpress.com/

David Goodrich

Rivers of Reckoning

http://www.riversofreckoning.com

I started Rivers of Reckoning in 2014 because I had more questions than anwers. I live in Northern michigan. For the time being, it seems like alot of my writing struggles with brevity of life and what really matters, as seen through the eyes of a river junky. I don’t write often but when I do I try to make it worth the read.

Ian W Bancroft

Rough Fisher

www.roughfisher.com

Jean-Paul Lipton resides in Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, where he performs fisheries management work for the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources. When he is not busy working on stream habitat restoration projects for the DNR, he enjoys spending time on the Otter Tail River where he pursues carp and other roughfish species on the fly.

Jean-Paul Lipton

Salmon River Spey

www.Salmonriverspey.blogspot.com

Chasing steelhead with two hands. Lots of videos and information about Spey.

Paul Conklin

Salt 396

www.salt396.com

Austin Orr My blog was started in 2013 at the urging (and with the help of) several people well known to this circle – Brandon, Chris, and Mike. I post mostly observational posts about some of my more favorite fishing trips. I think that I do it to record for myself the trips gone by as much as anything. Lately I’ve started trying to write a book, which takes up a horrendous amount of my time and leaves a corresponding hole where new posts should be on the blog.

Austin Orr

Sea Run Pursuits

www.searunpursuits.com

Fly fishing for Steelhead and Sea Run Cutthroat trout, on and around Washington’s Olympic Peninsula and Southwest Washington.

John Hicks

Sipping Emergers

www.sippingemergers.com

According to my buddy, English Jonny, I am an “award winning writer of some acclaim”* which likely means my fifteen minutes of fame have passed. I’ve published my work in The Drake, The Flyfish Journal, Pulp Fly: Volume 3, and Trout Magazine. I am also a regular contributor to Hatch Magazine. That said, I spend most of my time writing here**

I also managed to win a few awards recently for my writing.

As noted in the tag line, this blog is a place for me to write stuff about fly fishing and fly fishing related matters. It started because I wanted a single place to put the fishing reports that I used to post on various fly fishing discussion forums. It’s now something different.Stephen Zakur

Small Stream Reflections

www.smallstreamreflections.blogspot.com

For those who love small streams, wild trout, and life…in their simplest form

Alan (Brk Trt)

Stalking The Seam

www.stalkingtheseam.com

Finding the seam between currents, and threading your fly just there, is the difference between playing with Pisces and enjoying the view. As hard hunting and fishing fathers, we’re stalking a similar sweet-spot – the balance between passionate pursuits and happy home-lives. Sometimes we nail it, sometimes we miss. Weeks go by when we’re not even sure it exists. But we’re getting after it all the same. There’re fish in the rivers, birds in the brush and elk in the hills… and hell if we’re going to stand and watch the scenery go by.

Matthew Copeland, Steven Brutger

Texas Fly Fishing Adventures

www.texasflyfishingadventures.blogspot.com

Lots of trip reports going back over a decade.

Robert D Matthews

The Fiberglass Manifesto

www.thefiberglassmanifesto.com

As a dedicated “Glass Geek”, I have been writing The Fiberglass Manifesto to promote the builders and companies that produce fiberglass fly rods.  Over time the focus has broadened to include reel makers, artists, photographers, writers, fly tiers, gear makers, filmmakers, and really anything else that I feel is noteworthy within the fly fishing industry.  T.F.M. is also my personal fly fishing journal where I chronicle trips (however infrequent) with photos and narrative.

I strive to provide readers with original content that is informative and enjoyable to read which includes interviews, press releases, gear reviews, photography, videos, and along with frequent contests and gear giveaways.

Cameron Mortenson

The Fish Hunter Chronicles

www.thefishhunterchronicles.com

I currently live in Rexburg, Idaho and am a full time student at BYU-Idaho.  When I’m not busy with school, I spend my free time fishing with my fiancé, Hailey.  Eastern Idaho offers a variety of incredible fishing opportunities.  It doesn’t matter what river system you choose to fish, they all are home to beautiful fish.  Night fishing, chasing carp, and throwing big meaty streamers are some of my favorite aspects of fly fishing.  I love the challenge that each of these situations has to offer.

My blog is a place for people to come and read about my fishing adventures and enjoy fly fishing photography. Fly fishing is a lifestyle shared by many, and it’s a lifestyle I love.

Shane Thomas

The Flyfishmagazine Blog

www.flyfishmagazine.blogspot.com

Est. 2005- News, reviews, stories, gear, and gadgets for fly fishers and those who have to live with them. We endeavor to make “The quiet sport” substantially louder.

Lee Murdock

The Greenbacks

www.thegreenbacks.org

Building community through conservation.

We are a group of young and passionate anglers that are hoping to make conservation fun and engaging while promoting and protecting cold water fisheries. The Greenbacks are a 501c non-profit and in association with Colorado Trout Unlimited.

Kyle Perkins

The Literary Fly Fisher

www.theliteraryflyfisher.com

I write about angling literature, enviromental literature in general, the big questions, the little questions, and watever else catches my interest at The Literary Fly Fisher

Kenov Lokensgard

The Neil Creek Chronicles

www.neilcreekchronicles.blogspot.com

Mark Hieronymus

The Perfect Drift

www.theperfectdrift-marcpayne.com

The BT Blog chronicles the adventures of Badger Tenkara for just about 2 years now. We fish for trout, bass, panfish, and anything else that swims. We like to adapt fixed line fly fishing to North American waters and species, and have a blast experimenting as we go.

Marc Payne

The Photography of Brian L. Schiele

www.mtbbrian.com

Mine is more about my photography, which is all fly fishing related right now. I have had the same domain name since 2003, but the site has changed somewhat since then. I use Holga cameras.

Brian Schiele

The Pond Stalker

www.grampsfishingjournal.blogspot.com

From the ponds in and around Loveland, Colorado.

I am a retired Fly Fisher & Fly Tyer who has spent most of his fly fishing past chasing Trout in Stillwaters across the Western United States with brief excursions on small streams and warmwater ponds.

I won’t make any attempt to mislead anyone here,  I have loved fishing lakes and ponds for years.  My passion has always led me to these waters and the fun they offer to the flyfisher and fly tyer.  Although, most trips out were for chasing the big trout that lakes produce, my secret passion has been the fun of fly fishing for Bluegill, Crappie, Sunfish, and other assorted warm water fish.  I am currently taking an interest in getting to know more about fly fishing for Bass.  Perhaps even some Carp in the future.  One step at a time you Ol’ Geezer, I remind myself!

Living in Northern Colorado where I do offers plenty of opportunity for me to chase my dreams in warm water fly fishing and fly tying.  What I love most about it is that I can drive less than (15) minutes from my home and be on the water with a chance at a good time.  Economical, time saving, and, that word “FUN” again.  Which in turn means more fishing and tying time for me.   I am also very Grandchildren oriented so I have plenty of other activity to keep me busy so time on the water still needs to be worked around everything else.

I, also, have to be a very budget oriented Geezer.   Being a Senior Citizen on a fixed budget requires that I spend my money wisely and my time efficiently.

I take great pleasure in keeping my fly fishing time as simple as possible.    From the gear I use to the techniques I use. It works! Mel Moore

The Quiet Pool

www.thequietpool.blogspot.com

From his latest post: “I have decided to take “The Quiet Pool” in a different direction, or should I say an old direction.

When I started this blog back in 2006 my desire was for it to be a place to write my inner most thoughts about this piscatorial pursuit that I love. I feel some of my best postings have been when I wrote in that vain.

I went from writing fly fishing prose to being fly fishing’s angry old man. I ranted and raved at every inequity and slight that offended me, there was plenty to be offended about in my mind. I informed you readers about what was going on with the sorry plight of wild trout, steelhead and salmon and I correctly had reason for such offenses.

I was sometimes brutal in my assessment of the wrong of what state fish and wildlife agencies were doing and I believed this and still do,

The thing is that there are plenty of places throughout the internet and especially social media like o find out what is going on with our wild resources. I run a group on Facebook called For the Love of Wild Fish that is specially for information about our wild fish and the water they inhabit.

The Quiet Pool is going to be about fly fishing and everything that makes fly fishing beautiful. I will write about my experiences on the river and with the wild trout and steelhead I love so much.

I am weary of beating the conservation dead horse. Yes, it’s important and should be discussed but “The Quiet Pool” is not going to be the place.

This is my personal journal of my fly fishing life so that is what it’s going to be.”

Shane L. Stewart

The River Damsel

www.theriverdamsel.com

As an avid Flyfisher, I have come to realize that there is more adventure in the “riffles” of the river as it is in life. If you listen and watch the river, you will understand more about the complexity of what lies beneath. It is truly an ongoing adventure…a beautiful journey and a very gratifying one.

Emily Klinell Blankenship

The Trout Bus

www.troutbus.com

My blog follows my adventures in fisheries advocacy work and my various trips around the west spreading the conservation word and helping out wherever I can. I also put together an aggregator of the various blogs listed in Justin Carfagnini list here: http://troutbus.com/fly-fishing-bloggers-aggregator/Gabe Parr

The Trout Zone

www.thetroutzone.com

Tennessee-based guide and writer David Knapp, who spends a fair bit of time travelling the west. Nice photos. He also just started http://davidrknapp.com/.

Tippets And Tales

www.tippetsandtales.com

The random ramblings of two fishing buddies, mired in the 9-5 duldrums, dreaming of fishing trips to come.

Brad Eaton

Trout Bugs

www.joshuabergan.blogspot.com

Lots and lots of good local Montana intel by writer and photographer.

Joshua Bergan

Trout Unlimited

www.tu.org

Mark Taylor

Trouterspace

www.trouterspace.com

A dense blog with lots of information around Colorado and conservation themes, including aggregating videos and other relevant content.

Jaworski & Rosati

Troutrageous!

www.troutrageous.com

I’ve been writing Troutrageous! since 2007. It hit its stride around 2011-12 and has been on the wane ever since. I’m Pennsylvania born and bred, and my writing reflects a love for small streams, trout, pop culture, and my daughter. I’ve been transplanted to Florida and still haven’t adjusted to the salt life. Picked up the tenkara virus in 2009 which has become a major distraction ever since. Also loosely asssociated with Tenkara Sasquatch & Tenkara Angler.

Michael Agneta

True North Trout

www.truenorthtrout.com

I have had the realm of True North Trout for about 5 years. Former TU Chapter president and advocate for stream rehabilitation, macro-invert studies, Salmon in the classroom and getting people involved in the rivers that surround us, made me a candidate for True North Trout. Personally, I do not consider myself a writer, but when the opportunity to take over TNT was presented to me, my wife encouraged me to take on the task. Very glad I did. It has taught me most to look into topics that are hot debate within the state and country, met many other more prolific writers, and other members of Trout Unlimited and has kept me involved in the resources we love and need to protect. Tight Lines! Koz

Brian Kozminski

Voyageur Pursuits

www.voyageurpursuits.com

The North Woods on the fly and other stories. Nice theme, gorgeous photos. Short, almost poetic posts.

Tom Hazelton

Washington Fly Fishing

www.olympicpeninsulaflyfishing.blogspot.com

I began my blog a few years ago, chiefly in an effort to focus my sharing on sea-run Coastal Cutthroat trout fishing, though I do fish the rivers and streams and lakes on the Olympic Peninsula as well. My goal was to post weekly, though sometimes that feels forced, and sometimes it’s more monthly than weekly. So I am calling it “my almost weekly fly fishing blog”. Many of my blogs are just simple updates on local conditions and fishing, mixed with a few pictures. I am leaning more toward storytelling this year ahead, rather than just promoting trips. With our regional wild fisheries in precarious circumstances today, I have never really banged the drum very hard for my guiding work. We just don’t have that many wild fish. I have tried to keep the page uncluttered and simple, without any outside advertising so far.

Bob Triggs

Waterdog Journal

www.waterdogjournal.com

The Waterdog Journal started as a collection of fishing stories of where I fish and fishing reports of the days events. These stories and reports tended to be more about the experience of fishing than the catching of fish. The details of where I fish, how I fish and what I use are all there, but sometimes you have to read between the lines to figure that out. I’ve always found the “why” of fishing a lot more interesting than the “how” of fishing.

This same idea can be applied to the hunting and the wandering.

Ken Gortowski

Windknots & Tangled Lines

www.cofisher.blogspot.com

My blog was started in 2009 and I just reached 1000 posts! I started originally to talk about fly fishing in Colorado and to be a source of information about Wright & Mcgill glass rods and Orvis click-pawl reels. I’ve wandered all over the map since then looking at the humorous side of fly fishing and life.

Howard Levett

Yukon Goes Fishing

www.yukongoesfishing.com

A Denver Colorado fly fishing blog about the pursuit of the Abominable Snowmen in the rivers and stillwaters of the western United States.

Ivan Orsic

People not on this list that I follow:

Fly Fishing Russia

http://flyfishingrussia.com/

This blog is dedicated to flyfishing which is the most interesting fishing method. I am living in the Russian Far East, love fishing and travel, flyfish since 1986.

Mikhail Skopets

Wayward flyfishing

http://www.waywardflyfishing.com/

Fly fishing has become much too normal. On this wayward site, you’ll find exciting (and mostly true) articles, stories and book reviews on many aspects of fly fishing. Here I’ll explode fly fishing myths (and create a few of my own). Roam around or catch up on the latest news and my current attitudes in the flog (fly blog).

Tony Sisk

Tabulated List

20 Acre Carcaass www.20acrecarcass.com Jake Keeler
A Tenderloin Runs Through It www.atenderloin.blogspot.com Lucas Madsen
Anglers Club Magazine www.anglerclub.com Clay Smith
Arizona Wanderings www.azwanderings.com Ben Smith
Artist And Athete http://www.artist-and-athlete.com Heidi Oberstadt
AZ By The Fly www.azbythefly.com Jason Jones
Badger Tenkara www.badgertenkara.com Matt Sment
Big Kype www.bigkype.com Leif Birnbaum
Bobber Talk www.bobbertalk.blogspot.com Bob Streb
Bonefish On The Brain www.bonefishonthebrain.com Bjorn Stromsness
Carf Outdoors www.carfoutdoors.blogspot.com Justin Carfagnini
Casting Around www.castingaround.anthonynaples.com Anthony Naples
Chucking Line and Chasing Tail www.millsfly.blogspot.com Josh Mills
Connecticut Fly Angler www.flyfishingcts.blogspot.com RM Lytle
Cool Green Science – Matt Miller Http://blog.nature.org/science/profiles/matt-miller Matthew L. Miller
Critical Angling www.criticalangling.blogspot.com Tim Adkins
Driftless Trout Anglers www.eddierivardflyfishing.com Eddie Rivard
Feather Chucker www.featherchucker.blogspot.com Kevin Frank
Fishing and Thinking in Minnesota www.fishingandthinking.blogspot.com Wendy Berrell
Fishing Jones www.fishingjones.com Peter McDonald
Fishing Through Life www.btrussell-fishingthroughlife.blogspot.com Bill Trussell
Fly Fish Chick www.flyfishchick.com Christine Johnston Warren
Fontinalis Rising www.fontinalisrising.com Fontinalis Rising
Gink And Gasoline www.ginkandgasoline.com Louis Cahill
Go Into The Light www.gointothelight.wordpress.com Jon Tobey
Hatches Fly Tying Magazine www.hatchesmagazine.com Kevin Hoss
Headwaters of History www.headwatersofhistory.com Sam Snyder
Hops And Hooks www.hopsandhooks.com Joshua Rust
Kidder Fishing www.kidderfishing.blogspot.com Timothy Kidder
Living Fly Legacy www.livingflylegacy.com Chris Cutler
Look n Fishy www.looknfishy.blogspot.com Drew Ross
Middle River Dispatches www.middlerivergroup.com Tom Sadler
Mikes Gone Fishin’…Again www.mikesgonefishing.com Mike Sepelak
Montana Fly Fishing: Fish Tales www.mtfishtales.com Michael Stack
Mystic Waters Fly Fishing www.mysticwaters.com Fred Telleen
North 40 Fly Shop www.north40flyshop.com Sam Wike
Northern California Trout www.northerncaliforniatrout.com Mark Kautz-Shoreman
One A Fly! www.onafly.blogspot.com Ryan Frick
One Bug Is Fake www.onebugisfake.com Brandon Robinson
Outsmarting Fish www.outsmartingfish.com Nathan Leavitt
Photography/Firearms/FlyFishing/Opinions www.alexlandeen.com Alex Landeen
Pile Cast www.pilecast.net Dave Hosler
Powers Fly Fishing www.powersflyfishing.com Lee Powers
Real Backcountry Fish Nerd www.real.backcountryfishnerd.wordpress.com David Goodrich
Rough Fisher www.roughfisher.com Jean-Paul Lipton
Salmon River Spey www.Salmonriverspey.blogspot.com Paul Conklin
Salt 396 www.salt396.com Austin Orr
Sea Run Pursuits www.searunpursuits.com John Hicks
Sipping Emergers www.sippingemergers.com Stephen Zakur
Small Stream Reflections www.smallstreamreflections.blogspot.com Alan (Brk Trt)
Stalking The Seam www.stalkingtheseam.com Steven Brutger
Texas Fly Fishing Adventures www.texasflyfishingadventures.blogspot.com Robert D Matthews
The Fiberglass Manifesto www.thefiberglassmanifesto.com Cameron Mortenson
The Fish Hunter Chronicles www.thefishhunterchronicles.com Shane Thomas
The Flyfishmagazine Blog www.flyfishmagazine.blogspot.com Lee Murdock
The Greenbacks www.thegreenbacks.org Kyle Perkins
The Literary Fly Fisher www.theliteraryflyfisher.com Kenov Lokensgard
The Neil Creek Chronicles www.neilcreekchronicles.blogspot.com Mark Hieronymus
The Perfect Drift www.theperfectdrift-marcpayne.com Marc Payne
The Photography of Brian L. Schiele www.mtbbrian.com Brian Schiele
The Pond Stalker www.grampsfishingjournal.blogspot.com Mel Moore
The Quiet Pool www.thequietpool.blogspot.com Shane L. Stewart
The River Damsel www.theriverdamsel.com Emily Klinell Blankenship
The Trout Bus www.troutbus.com Gabe Parr
The Trout Zone www.thetroutzone.com David Knapp
Tippets And Tales www.tippetsandtales.com Brad Eaton
Trout Bugs www.joshuabergan.blogspot.com Joshua Bergan
Trout Unlimited www.tu.org Mark Taylor
Trouterspace www.trouterspace.com Jaworski & Rosati
Troutrageous! www.troutrageous.com Michael Agneta
True North Trout www.truenorthtrout.com Brian Kozminski
Voyageur Pursuits www.voyageurpursuits.com Tom Hazelton
Washington Fly Fishing www.olympicpeninsulaflyfishing.blogspot.com Bob Triggs
Waterdog Journal www.waterdogjournal.com Ken Gortowski
Windknots & Tangled Lines www.cofisher.blogspot.com Howard Levett
Yukon Goes Fishing www.yukongoesfishing.com Ivan Orsic